What Vegans Don’t Eat

marshmallowsI knew vegans don’t eat animal products.

But did you know that vegans don’t eat marshmallows??? I had no idea.

Here are the list of ten things vegans don’t eat, according to Shine.

1. Meat. – obvious, yes.

2. Fish and shellfish. – some don’t eat Omega-3 Fish Oil supplements if they are from real fish.

3. Dairy products. – everything from milk and yogurt to cheese and butter.

4. Eggs. – that means mayonnaise and anything else made with eggs like most brownies and cakes, too!

5. Honey. – Bees are animals. Bees make honey. Vegans don’t eat it.

6. White sugar. – Some white sugar is processed with bone char, according to PETA. (I had no idea!!)

7. Most beer. – Guinness Beer is filtered using tiny amounts of gelatin derived from fish bladders. And it’s not alone. While some beers are vegan, others are filtered using egg whites or sea shells, according to barnivore, a vegan beer and wine guide.

8. Some breads. – while many simple breads are a-OK, containing just four ingredients (flour, yeast, water, and salt) many breads and baked goods are made with whey (a dairy product) or with butter, eggs, or sugar.

9. Marshmallows. – these and other foods, like gummy candies and Frosted Mini Wheats cereal, are made with gelatin — a protein made from boiling skin, bones, and other animal parts. Surprisingly, though, a lot of junk food qualifies as vegan, even if it is unhealthy.

10. Salad dressing. Salads are great for vegans, but not necessarily the dressing. Scan the ingredient list, and you’ll often find lecithin, which helps keep oil and vinegar from separating, and can be derived from animal tissues or egg yolk (both no-no’s for vegans) or from soy (OK).

I stopped eating meat since June of 2010 and it’s not easy when you cook for carnivores. But I’ll be honest; being a vegan will be very tough in my tribe. This list pretty much eliminates all foods we eat.

If you are a vegan, what was the hardest food to stop when you became a vegan?

NOTE: The information in this post is not intended to replace the advice of a doctor. Dr. Karen disclaims any liability for the decisions you make based on this information. Opinions and statements on this website have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration. The information is for general consumer understanding and education, and should not be considered or used as a substitute for medical advice and it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. I am not your doctor and you should consult with a qualified health care professional on any matter relating to their health and well being on one-on-one basis with thorough physical examination. Dr. Karen encourages you to make your own health care decisions based upon your research and in partnership with a qualified health care professional. Products Dr. Karen recommends and their properties have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. If you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition, consult your physician before using the products. For more info, visit the Disclaimer page.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Comments

  1. says

    One thing that I find interesting is that, even though gelatin is not vegan-safe, it is, however, kosher. A friend of mine is a rabbi and even he was surprised when he learned this.

  2. says

    All gelatin? Do they all say, “kosher” or they don’t have to be stated to be kosher???

    BTW…I never knew the sofas you adore are called “Marshmallow Sofas”!!

  3. says

    I try to avoid gelatin as a vegetarian, but you’d be surprised what it turns up in: yogurt, Planters peanuts, frozen french fries, mousse, Hostess snacks…eew. I still eat dairy, so most of the stuff on your list is fine by me. Have to say…I think if I were presented with a puffy, golden, perfectly toasted marshmallow, I’d still eat it. ;-)

  4. says

    I think this list is pretty flawed. It makes veganism seem impossible and has some half truths on it. Here are a few at first glance:

    +Vegans don’t eat mayo, but Veganaise is just as delicious and cruelty free.
    +There are lots and lots of vegan beers.
    +Marshmallows aren’t just not vegan. They aren’t vegetarian. Sweet and Sara and +Dandies makes vegan marshmallows that are just as good as good as the kind made with crushed up bones.
    +Salad dressing? Come on. There are tons of vegan dressings out there, and all you have to do is read the label to find what is and isn’t vegan. As far as lecithin, more often than not companies use soy lecithin because it’s cheaper.

  5. says

    I think the article was just a general list and implying that the most common items that we see in grocery aisles are not so vegan-friendly. But in reality, it’s really not vegetarian friendly and not just vegan. And you know what I learned from the list? I can only eat #3 and #4, now that I know what’s in other items. Beer filtered from “Gelatin derived from fish bladders???” Eeeew…..But I should have mention in the article that there are many many vegan/vegetarian-friendly substitutes.

    And the beer thing? The link does give you a list of vegan beers. At least they did that. :)

  6. Lisa says

    I do believe that there is vegetarian gelatin so homemade marshmallows are do-able.
    I respect peoples eating habits I just don’t get the honey as it is a gift from the bees!

  7. says

    You can get gelatin by boiling flax seed in water. And now there is sunflower lecithin in addition to soy lecithin. some Celaic disease patients react to lecithin. I am vegetarian. You can get a case of sugar in the Raw from a restaurant supply store. Yuk on the marshmallows and Frosted Miniwheats, which are now added to my to do list. I cannot cook for my carnivorous family, but they do like a lot of my “pretend” (as my kids call it) food. Linda

  8. says

    I am going to work on my follow up post to this and talk about “alternatives” to this list. It seems like there are a lot of options out there that *I* personally don’t know about. I do buy Organic Raw Sugar for my coffee but since I don’t cook with white sugar for anything, it’s not an issue but my DD loves to bake so now I know to not buy white sugar.

    Off to do more research for the follow up. Don’t mind me if I use some of your ideas. :D And if you come up with more, please e-mail me. Thanks. :)

  9. says

    I had no idea about the marshmallows!
    I haven’t eaten red meat for 13 years now. I don’t insist that the family does it (although Husband has to cook if we are having anything red), but to go vegan… I think they would all leave home!

  10. says

    OMGsh! Now you’ve done it! I’m gonna have to try Sweet & Sara. I think I passed by that building when I was in LIC recently! Thanks Mary!

  11. Mel says

    As someone who was not vegan or vegetarian for 38 years and has been vegan for only 12 months it is just a matter of education. I was completely ignorant of a vegan diet and lifestyle when I embarked on my journey. All I knew is that I could not unlearn what I had learnt about the atrocities of the dairy industry after being handed a leaflet one day by a stranger which led me to research how all other animal products I was eating, wearing and using were produced.

    A year later and I have met many other vegans, learnt where to get information from, what items default as vegan in main stream supermarkets (of which there are many), which restaurants and cafes are vegan friendly (more than your realise) and just what vegan cooking entails. I LOVE cooking now. I have learnt so much about nutrition and health and have been using a myriad of ingredients I had never used before. I can honestly say that I eat more of a varity of foods now than i ever did before. There are health food shps with entire walls dedicated to vegan beer and winses and websites which tell you which ones are vegan friendly.

    There are quite literally hundreds of thousands of vegan recipes online and many vegan cookbooks. I highly recomment “Mouthwatering Vegan Recipes” online and Vegan Yum Yum the book is great too. My husband has commented that we have more junk foood in the house now I am vegan than we ever did. IGA Black and Gold brand milk bottles default as vegan for instance. Chemist jelly beans are vegan. Many dark chocolates are vegan.

    Examples of the dinners we make – felafel wraps, lentil shepherds pie, lasagne, Moroccon pizza, pasta, gnocchi, risottos, lentil burgers, bean burgers, chick pea burgers, Thai vegetable Laksas, mushroom and soba noodles, Gado Gado, chilli beans and rice, macaroni and “cheese”, enchildas, bean and corn burritos, soups and home made herb and garlic breads, quinoa, barley, pearl cous cous, Moroccon tagines, chick pea ragout, store bought samosas and home made daal and many many more Indian dishes, “pesto” pasta, gyozo, nachos, satay glass noodles, rice paper rolls, spring rools, sushi, vegetable curries, brown rice dishes, vegetable curries, “sausages” and mash, corn fritters, singapore noodles. The list goes on and on and on.

    I make cupcakes, brownies, chocolate spiders, chocolate fudge. Although I prefer whole foods and keep meat substitutes and soy products to a minimum I eat vegan marshmallows, vegan mayo, vegan cheese, vegan sausage rolls, vegan ice cream which is simply made using plant based milks such as coconut milk. It takes a little more planning and sometimes mean less choice when I eat out but I feel like I am missing out on nothing except for the contribution of cruelty towards animals.

    I am the happiest and healthiest I have been in years. I have lost 12 kgs without even trying simply by not eating animal products. For there record most dressings are fine, I have never had an problem with bread, most sugar is fine and instead of honey I now use maple syrup or brown rice syrup on my pancakes and in my tea :) It seemed completely overwhelming to me at firts because eating animals is all I knew but now it feels natural and right and I adore everything I eat. Once you see things through different eyes you see all the things you can have. Veganism is not about sacrifice. Its just about non violence :)

  12. says

    WOW. Thanks for the list of great mouth watering vegan ideas! I’ve been trying to cut down on animal meats too and while I only eat fish occasionally, I find myself feeling better not eating animal meats. Thank you for your awesome advice!

  13. says

    Thanks Karen for the list of Don’ts and Mel for the list of Do’s.  I agree that it is just a matter of eductation.  I, too, didn’t have any clue where to start when I switched to Vegan.  I just ate salads for a while.  In the last few months, I have been incorporating foods into my diet that I never heard of before.  It is truly amazing, the amount of foods that I never tried.  All I ever knew was chicken, beef, pork, eggs, cheese, milk, and a few veggies.  Today, my veggie vocabulary much improved.  Like Karen mentions, it is important to understand that animal products can sneak into foods where you wouldn’t expect them.  This includes gelatin, like in marshmallows.  For any beginner starting out, please review this list of things you should be eating 
    http://www.forkstofeet.com/2013/05/vegan-diet-foods.html  
    I hope that helps.  It can seem over-bearing, making the switch to plant-based, but there are many resources out on the web.  Do your research, and you will be fine.  You can look forward to a happier, healthier, more sustainable way of living!